Special Post-Golden Globes 2012

Sungano and I spent yesterday’s evening watching the Golden Globes and commenting on the show, but most importantly dresses. It was a blast, but I couldn’t help but feel a little underwhelmed at this years red carpet.  Although there were some pretty dresses, I didn’t see anything OMG worthy, but I guess they’re holding out for the Oscars (or at least I hope!).  But some of my favorite dresses (in no particular order) were the following….

1.  Shailene Woodley

This Marchesa dressed looked gorgeous on her! The beautiful details and beading on the dress allowed her to use minimal jewelry and I loved that she picked her hair up, so the sole focus would be on her gown.  I know she was nominated for her work in George Clooneys movie The Descendants and this dress let her have her moment.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2.  Emma Stone

Surprise surprise!  My style crush made it on my list…but with good reason!  The Lanvin gown she had on was really pretty, and it had a lot of details to it-to the eagle jeweled belt and the crystal shoulders.  The purple jewel tone looked really nice on her and I loved that it also had the  magenta-ish color peeking out on the sides.  A little leg slit never hurt nobody either 😉

 

 

 

 

 

3.  Julianne Moore

Can I have her earrings please?!  Those emerald colored tassel earrings went great with her perfectly coiffed red hair and they added a much needed color to her black Chanel dress.  The dress had a peplum waist (one of my favorite new trends) and she pulled of this trend perfectly.  She looked amazing.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4.  Viola Davis

She was superb in The Help and her nomination was well earned.  Although she didn’t win, she looked like a winner to me in that wine colored Pucci gown.  I’m a sucker for a leg slit and she probably is too, because that leg slit was sexy!  Her hair was shiny, her makeup was spot on and her accessories were also minimal….Viola was working that red carpet!

 

 

 

 

5.  Salma Hayek

Girl was representing us Latinas well last night!  Her sparkly Gucci dress showed off her tiny little waist and, as a girl with thick hair, I loved that she let her hair down.  Her dress was already a show stopper, so I’m glad she went with a simple clutch and jewelry.  Salma, keep it up!

 

 

 

 

 

Whew!  So many dresses! There you are, my best dressed list, but some honorable mentions are: Heidi Klum (stunning necklace), Amber Riley (best red gown), Michelle Williams (minus that headband), Helen Mirren (she was a Dame indeed) and Claire Danes (the back was fabulous).  So I’ve mentioned the best dressed, who do you think was the worst dressed?

xo, Marcela

Leave a Reply

